Boot Camp, Base Miles and Baking

Today was a perfect day filled with coaching a fun weekend bonus boot camp, a long run with my dad, and an afternoon of baking. The perfect trifecta! I’m always super inspired by the awesome group of Boot Camp Challenge peeps that show up on Saturday mornings for a bonus butt kicking. We do some crazy stuff and they always leave sweaty and smiling! Today’s camp consisted of 6 missions including, 100 walking lunges, a 1/4 mile “cowboy run” with a medicine ball, walking planks, tricep dips, bear crawls, crab walks and my personal favorite…atomic sit-ups!

After teaching class – I headed out on my own Saturday adventure…a long run with my Dad.   Lately we have been running together every weekend and it has been such great fun. To share something that we both love, and to get to talk for 1-2 hours every week makes this Daddy’s girl a happy one :-).

While we’re on the topic of running – I want to talk about “base miles”. This is a concept I’ve always known about, but until recently, never truly got the feeling of what it was like to have solid base miles. While I was thinking about this, I came across a post on the Runner’s World website that sums it up perfectly…

“Think of base building as the foundation of your house. The stronger the foundation or base the more ambitious or elaborate the remainder of the house can be. Can you attach a roof without floors and walls? That’s exactly what you’re doing when you make aggressive jumps in volume or intensity or enter long races without a proper base. Base building is by far the longest phase a runner must endure.”

Ain’t that the truth? I never really consciously thought about being in the “base building phase”, but now that I’ve finally been running consistently, and longer, I can totally see how much it has paid off! It’s kind of fun building an elaborate house! It feels so good to head out on a run and truly feel like my body is ready for whatever challenge I’ve decided to face that day. If you are new to running, be patient. Build your mileage slowly (1 mile a week usually what I recommend) and stay consistent. Your body learns to adapt to what you put in front of it. The other thing I’ve learned by running with my dad, is that sometimes you’ve gotta go do a workout that you may not think you’re quite ready for. You might surprise yourself!

Ok, enough with the fitness talk…onto some FOOD! After getting home from my run today, I wanted to get some muffins in the oven to bring to a friend’s house later today. I had just pulled out some shredded zucchini from my freezer (yeah flash-back to summer!) and really wanted to healthy, but decadent treat. After perusing my never-ending Pinterest page of yummy looking recipes, I decided to base mine on a recipe created by Amy at Simply Sugar and Gluten Free. The “Double Chocolate Zucchini Bread” looked just too good to pass up! You find the recipe here …I made a few changes including:

  • I used sorghum, millet and tapioca (because that’s what I had!)
  • I used 1 egg, and 2 flax eggs (I am working on adding egg back into my diet, but I wasn’t quite ready to bite the 3-egg bullet!)
  • I subbed agave for the honey and applesauce for the sugar.
  • I made them as muffins instead of bread…because I was in a hurry!

I can only vouch for my version, but they sure turned out great! Not too sweet, but dark, chocolately and plenty moist! My non-GF friend even loved them!

Well – I think I’m ready to lay on my couch for the remainder of the day…I’m exhausted!

How do you spend your Saturdays? Running long?

Have you ever done a “boot camp style” workout?

What’s your favorite healthy baked good?

Leave a Reply

