Food Prep-A-Palooza!

I always feel great when I know I have a kitchen full of healthy options, and pre-planning and prep can go a long way! I usually try to spend one day a week planning out our dinners (always making enough for leftovers/lunch), creating a shopping list and prepping the food. But lately, I have been slacking. We have been scrounging through the pantry and freezer for most of our meals. I don’t know about you, but when this happens we end up eating carb heavy meals, with very little fresh goodness. Lots of pasta, cereal, etc. Well, the scrounge days were fun, but this morning I woke up with a serious need for VEG. It was food prep time.  I made a quick early morning trip to Sprouts and loaded up on everything I needed. And….drumroll please….by 9:30 am I have Pumpkin Turkey Chili in the crockpot, 2 cauliflower pizza crusts baked, a gigantic batch of detox veggie salad in my fridge and pizza hummus ready for dipping (tester for Superbowl Sunday!) Whew! It feels good to do things that I know will make my body so happy.

 

IMAG0797

 

Recipes, you ask? Well here is my round up. None of them are my own, although I altered a few of them to fit my needs or my available ingredients.

RECIPE ROUND-UP

Detox Salad: from Doughing Rouge - this is a copy cat recipe from Whole Foods, although I have never had the Whole Foods version, I’m totally obsessed with this recipe. It is filling and lasts all week for lunches and snacks!

 

Cauliflower Pizza Crust: from Real Sustenance – finally a cauliflower crust recipe without cheese! I made mine with home made sunflower seed flour. I already sneaked a corner piece as the crusts came out of the oven and it is DELISH! Can’t wait for pizza night!

 

Pumpkin Turkey Chili:  from Skinny Taste – I used black and white beans and leftover turkey breast meat frozen from the holidays.

 

Pizza Hummus: from Chocolate Covered Katie - I’m excited to have a new flavor of hummus to spice up my veggies! I left out the nutritional yeast (which would give it the “cheese” part of the pizza flavor) because I try to avoid yeast and didn’t have any on hand. It’s still yummy!

 

 

I have some leftover cauliflower…I think I’m either going to try some cauliflower mashed potatoes, or buffalo cauliflower (a meat free chicken wing wanna-be!) . That is, unless I eat it all raw with my pizza hummus.

 

How do you make sure your house is stocked with healthy food? Any food prep secrets?

 

What are you making for Superbowl Sunday?

One thought on “Food Prep-A-Palooza!

Leave a Reply

