bALaNcE

I teach senior fitness classes. The one I’m most famous for is Wednesday “Balance Class”.  I should be a pro at balance then, right? Well, I’ve learned that the balance I struggle with is not improved by standing on one foot, walking on tape lines, or doing calf raises. I need a life balance. A way to not worry about every bite I put in my mouth, a way to exercise the way I want to without feeling guilty. So my first step…stop logging my food. Now, I’m a total advocate of food logs, because I think its a great way to get a good look at your daily diet. (I never knew I ate so much fat!) However, I spent SO MUCH time logged on to the computer entering in foods and portions and exercise that I spent even MORE time thinking about it. It’s bad when it’s 3 pm and your Daily Plate says you can eat 3oo more calories that day. And then you spend the next hour thinking about how long you should work out so you can actually eat dinner. I think it can work for some people, and I will definately use my Daily Plate occasionally as a check up on how I’m doing, but I think for my sanity, I need to stop.

And exercise. I’m going to go for the next few weeks on a relatively un-scheduled workout program. I love order. I love lists. I love schedules. So obviously, I’m going to plan out workouts weeks in advance. This worked great for my 10K training program. I need that structure. But I’m going to take a break from that and do what I feel like when I feel like. This week I went hiking one day and swimming the next. I hadn’t done either of these in months. And it felt great.

I’m going to be active as much as possible. That’s my schedule. That’s the plan.

Food Girl’s Latest: Low-Fat Banana Zucchini Bread

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Bob’s Red Mill GF All-Purpose Baking Flour
  • 1 cup certified gluten free oats
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon 
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 1/4 cups white sugar
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 2 medium overripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 cups shredded zucchini
  • 1 cup dried cranberries (or raisins or nuts)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Whisk together white flour, wheat flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, and salt.

3. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs.

4. Add the sugar, oil, applesauce, and mashed bananas to the eggs; mix well.

5. Add the vanilla.

6. Combine the wet and dry mixtures. Stir until just combined.

7. Fold in the zucchini and cranberries.

8. Pour into 2 lightly greased loaf pans (9×5-inch).

9. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.

This makes 2 loafs. I did one loaf and 12 muffins. All in all = 24 servings

Leave a Reply

