The unlikely opinion of a trainer

Most trainers you talk to will say they hate NBC’s The Biggest Loser. Most fitness professionals will say that it is a horrible show, showing unrealistic results and promoting starvation and overexercising. I MUST disagree. I think the Biggest Loser is one of the best things that has happened to basic cable. The show has inspired a nation to workout. Who can watch this year’s youngest competitor (and finalist) Mike lose 174 lbs and still only care about the well-being of his top contender dad and worries about helping his younger brother lose the weight too, and NOT be inspired. How about the 48 year old mom who WON the competition, weighing in at a fit 117lbs with more energy than ever? Or Tara (my personal favorite because she reminds me of me) who won almost every weekly challenge…even beating the boys at pulling a race car around a track? Now that’s what I call a stud. I watched the entire season this year and even though I don’t have hundreds of pounds to lose, I was motivated to get off my lazy butt and do something. The trainers on The Biggest Loser are doing an even better job of educating contestants and viewers about healthy habits.

What people must realize though, is that this is a show of immersion. The results that you see are not necessarily impossible, but you must understand that losing weight was all they were doing. These are things I must remember myself. 15lbs in 1 week is just not going to happen when you work 8 hours a day, clean your house, play with your kids and do laundry. The contestants had trainers for most of the competition, creating every workout specifically for them. Most of us do not have this luxury. What we need to take from the Biggest Loser is that weight loss is about lifestyle. Big things need to change and need to stay changed. We need to learn to make healthy choices a part of our daily life.

Changing the World:

The part of The Biggest Loser that I loved the most this year was the million pound match up. Viewers pledged almost 3 MILLION lbs of weight loss for this at home challenge. And for every lb pledged, 1 lb of food was donated to those who didn’t have enough. What better way to look at it? Let’s give up some bad habits, increase our exercise, decrease portion sizes…while feeding America? I LOVE IT! Obviously this show is having an impact on the health of our nation.

THANK YOU BIGGEST LOSER!

And now that I have rambled on and on about my favorite tv show…let me get to my point. I pulled out my Jillian Michaels (Biggest Loser Trainer) DVD last night and did a level 2 “Shred” workout. I forgot out how much I loved it. I had already been to the gym yesterday, but didn’t have the oomph to push myself. In just 20 minutes last night I sweat more than I have in a week. Her 30 Day Shred DVD has a lot of similarities¬†to the “Making the Cut” workout which I did completely last August (to date, my most successful training program. 5lbs in 4 weeks, super toned abs and stronger than I have ever felt.) Doing the workout reminded me of how it felt to kick my little booty into gear, and now I’m ready to get ready for summer! Swim suits here I come.

After my evening sweat session, I didn’t want to ruin it all with my evening bowl of icecream. So I made the trade for a lemon italian ice cup. I have to say it was refreshing and delicious. Still no healthy choice champion, but better than icecream. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to give up dessert.

Leave a Reply

