The gluten free traveler

I recently returned from 2 vacations, and am excited to get back to my “fit life” as a “food girl”. I had a blast on both trips, and traveling is now much less worrisome thanks to my discovery of Soy Joy Bars, Walmarts Tropical Trail Mix (my traveling staple), and Lara Bar’s new JamFrakas. The best part of it all is that I depend much less on food brought from home. I have discovered how to eat gluten free anywhere.

Now, my most recent trip was to small town America, where gluten intolerance is about as familiar as trans fat in Hollywood. People think I’m crazy, think I can’t eat ANYTHING, and question everything I eat. “Is yogurt ok?” “What about apples” “You can’t have beer can you?”…it goes on and on all day. However, I was greeted by my cook-cousin and she had a homemade loaf of gluten free sandwich break (from the Gluten Free Pantry Mix) and delicious peanut butter cookies! (super easy recipe follows)Nothing can make a girl feel like home than some yummy dessert that is gluten free!

I also discovered a great pizza place in nearby (big city) Fargo, ND. I’ll give them a little press time here.  I found this place online, and it turned out to be a pleasant surprise. It’s called Xtreme Pizza  and they have gluten free crust! Also, all of their toppings and sauces are GF, except the creamy garlic alfredo sauce. I had a yummy garlic chicken pizza and even shared the leftovers with my hubby the next day. When he likes it, you know its good!  Not only was their GF pizza pretty delish, the place wasn’t half bad either. Not your gourmet restaurant, but when you walk in to a huge-screen tv with Sports  Center on, you know it must be good. The tables even had Trivial Pursuit cards which we played while waiting for our pizzas. (This fed on my new-found love of trivia, thanks to much time spent with old-folks). My non-gluten free family members devoured their pizzas too, so all in all, it was a great dinner!

Second realization while I was gone…summer food is easy gluten free! I rarely even had to bug my extended family to make things “special” when we grilled meat and veggies every night! Who knew? So the moral of the story is, find out you are gluten intolerant in the summer, then at least the first few months won’t be so depressing. I made some sweet&spicy rubs for both chicken and pork chops, and became addicted (once again) to grilled corn on the cob. Mm…boy…

Well, I’m back now and I’ve got my oven mitts on, the baking bug hit me. Though my hubs and I are working really hard to reduce carbs and eat 3 healthy meals a day, I couldn’t help but bake a mini-batch of gluten free chocolate muffins last night, complete with chocolate frosting. It all came from a mix, don’t think I’m THAT ambitious yet. But they sure hit the spot. My cousin also have me an easy recipe for GF muffins that I plan to try in the next few days.  I will post how it goes.

Tasty GF Peanut Butter Cookies

1 cup peanut butter (creamy)

1 cup white sugar

1 egg

Mix them all together and roll into round balls. Sprinkle or roll in white sugar and slightly flatten. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. Who knew gluten free baking could be so simple!

Leave a Reply

