Intervals

It still amazes me what a good workout can do to a not-so-hot day. When my workout pal met me at the gym after work yesterday, we were both tired and wanted to take a nap. I had already written out our workout (good idea by the way…do it in the morning when your coffee is in your system and you’re much more likely not to wimp out in the afternoon) so we got going anyways. An hour and 15 minutes later we were sweaty, out of breath, and felt totally amazing. I think part of the reason we felt so great is that we did the workout as an interval circuit. By doing bursts of cardio and keeping your heart rate up during the whole weights session, your energy level really perks right up! Here’s the workout as promised…

 

Legs & Cardio Circuit

Warm-up – elliptical Level 7 Hills for 15 min

Circuit: Do each exercise 10 times and the cardio bursts for 1 minute. Go through circuit 3x.

  • Alternating step lunges
  • Single Leg Bench Step-ups
  • Quick steps on step (running up and down) – 1 min
  • Quad Extension machine
  • Hamstring curl – machine or on ball
  • Jumping Jacks – 1 min
  • Side Lying inner and outer thighs
  • Fire Hydrants
  • Mountain Climbers – 1 min

Stationary Bike – 15 minutes @L7

Stretch and Abs

 

Give it a try! Let me know what you think!

One thought on “Intervals

  1. Love the idea of writing your workout plan out in the morning. It’s so true. By the afternoon / evening I am so tired that I am just “over it” and not motivated to finish my workouts. I end up skipping a set or a few lifts.

Leave a Reply

