Library Finds

Find #1:

I got lucky the other day. There is rarely something that makes me so happy than to walk into the library and find a brand new un-read book that has been on my reading list for a few months, sitting on the new books shelf. I’m a nerd, I know, but that’s what happened the other day. The book? The End of Overeating – Taking Control of the Unsatiable American Appetite by David Kessler. This book was an instant best-sellar, and I can see why. First of all, most Americans overeat, and most of those people know it. Most of THOSE people want to lose weight, SO…read the book. There’s no diet plans, no workouts, no deprivation. The book talks mostly about the science and psychology behing WHY we overeat. I think it is important to get background info on a problem before we try to fix it. Everyone has different reasons why they eat, and everyone has different trigger foods and stimuli that cause them to eat more. By bringing awareness to these things, you can slowly slowly slowly change your habits to treat food differently. I would definately recommend this book to anyone who likes the slightly more technical side to food to eating. My favorite chapters are when Kessler digs deep into corporate-food-America and exposes how our favorite restaurants make our favorite foods (fyi…I don’t plan on visiting Panda Express anymore…). So give it a try, read it, let me know what you think!

 

Find #2:

My other lucky library find came in the nonfiction DVD section…the workout DVDs! I’ve posted before using the library as a way to vary your workouts and to try something new, and I’m still doing it! This time I found the Kari Anderson Reach! DVD.  This was a different kind of workout than I usually do, but I really like it! It begins with a 30 min standing portion that focuses on core, toning and balance. That is followed by 20 minutes of mat work , again for toning and core, and at the end there is a 10 minute stretching segment. The exercises are simple, but effective. I had my heart-rate up little, and I’m definately sore today (hello inner thighs!). The concept combines some yoga/pilates-ish moves with some dancers exercises/postures. I might be purchasing this one!

Leave a Reply

