Love Your Legs!

I have thunder-thighs. I think it’s just one of those ex-gymnast things. Thanks to running and lifting they are not as thunderous as they were in my tumbling days, but I still consider them my chunkers. I think part of being fit and living a balanced life is coming to terms with your body. I used to HATE my legs. I hated how they looked when I sat down in a chair (smoosh!), I hated pants shopping because the right waist and length sizes never even fit over my legs. But as I’ve gotten older,(and thanks to my ever-loving husband), I have learned to love them. I love that they get me up the colorado hills on my bike, I love that they let me do squats and lunge jumps to my hearts desire.

 

And NOW…I have another reason to love them. According to Reuters, Danish doctors are saying that “They found patients with the thinnest thighs died sooner than the more endowed”. Now, we all know about research and the media. They take a little something and make it bigger to make a headline. However, we have known for a while now that abdominal fat increases risk of heart disease, so I guess if you look at it the opposite way, it’s better to hold that fat on your thighs than on  your belly.  So I can be thankful for that too. Dr. Ian Scott says “…larger studies would need to be done before doctors could decide that thigh measurement was any kind of good predictor of health”. But for now, we can enjoy this headline and be happy with our thunder thighs, and appreciate our bodies for what they are and what they can do!

 

Side Note: the above Nike ad is one of my favorites. It’s hard to read the text on here so this is what it says:

 “I have thunder thighs. And that’s a compliment because they are strong and toned and muscular. And though they are unwelcome in the petite section they are cheered on in marathons. Fifty years from now I will bounce my grandchild on my thunder thighs and then I’ll go out for a run. Just Do It. “

Leave a Reply

