G-Free Game Time!

Last night marked the start of college football in our household, the annual Rocky Mountain Showdown – the in-state CSU vs. CU game. I decided to invite my family and some friends over (some GF, some not), and wanted to play HOSTESS! I had a blast, and came up with some great ways to celebrate game day gluten free and even half-way healthy!

 

Here’s the run-down:

The Main Event:

Mini Buffalo Burgers – we had to have these for this game because we were ready to kick some Buffalo butt!

I found these burgers actually pre-made (meat only) at Super Target! I grilled them up, seasoned them with some Lawry’s and topped them with a 1/4 slice of colby jack cheese. They were pretty fatty (I thought my apt was going to burn down from the grill flames!) but they sure were delicious!

 

Chicken Wings

My brought these from a local wing shop, and all of their sauces are GF except the teriyaki. Call your favorite wing place and check it out for yourself!

 

The Sides

Home-made Potato Fries

I cut up a bunch of small baking potatoes in wedges and brushed them with olive oil, sprinkled them with salt, pepper, garlic and parmesean cheese. I baked them for 1 hour at 400 degrees, flipping and tossing every 15 minutes. I finished them off with about 5 minutes under the broiler. Yummy and crispy!!

 

Chex Mix

I used the original Chex Mix Recipe from the box, but only used the rice and corn chex. I used GF pretzels and soy nuts (sister with nut allergy!).

 

Chips and Salsa

This is an easy one to go GF. I use corn tortilla chips and my dad’s delicious garden-made salsa. But any GF salsa will do!!

 

Veggie Tray

This is another easy way to keep game day healthy and gluten free. We had a whole tray of carrots, cucumbers, sweet bell peppers, snap peas and celery. We had ranch dressing for the gluten-eaters, and hummus for the G-Free’rs and others who love hummus!

 

Grapes

Delicious. Healthy. Enough said.   

 

And for Dessert…

 

GF sugar cookie bars with team spirit frosting

I used the sugar cookie recipe from Gluten Free Cooking School and went easy and bought white icing. Food coloring and some green writing frosting  was all the rest I needed!

 IMG_4935

The most delicious Apple Crisp I’ve ever eaten

I have been craving apple crisp for the past month. It must be that fall bug that is flying around Colorado, I think I’m ready. I used the recipe for Vegan Apple and Pear Crisp from Karina’s Kitchen. I have to brag and say that I truly impressed myself, and I think I can speak for everyone watching the game that it was delicious. Perfect crunchy, sugary topping with perfect, juicy, sweet & tart apples inside. Eat it warm from the oven with a nice scoop of french vanilla icecream and you will forget about who’s winning the football game!

 

Needless to say, the food was a hit, the game was was a great one (GO RAMS!) and everybody left happy and full. That’s my kind of football game. 🙂

Leave a Reply

