Food Girl Recommends…

Check this book out! 

I’ve had this book on hold at the library for quite a while now, and when it finally came it I was excited to read it and yet still skeptical. I am familiar with Elisabeth Hasselbeck’s story (very, very similar to mine – minus being on a reality show in Australia) and think she’s an amazing gluten free girl…but I was worried that she had turned the gluten free diet into some kind of fad-diet. I was pleasantly surprised once I started reading. Yes, she does have portions of the book related to the health benefits of a gluten free diet, even if you’re not a diagnosed Celiac or have a gluten intolerance, but I completely agree with this. I think people of all kinds can benefit from giving up gluten. But most of the book is a vault of information about how to live a fabulous gluten free life. She calls it a “Survival Guide” and you can’t describe it any better than that.

 

There is great basic information for the newly diagnosed, lots of gluten free product lists, hints on eliminated cross-contamination, tips on eating out at restaurants and partys…even info on gluten free kids ands gluten free diets for people with autism. There is a little bit of everything in this book, and the best part is, it doesn’t overwhelm you.  After reading this book, I felt empowered to take even more control over my gluten free diet, instead of feeling like I will never be able to handle it all (some books/articles have this affect). It gets back to the recurring theme I always blog about…BALANCE!

 

Elisabeth Hasselbeck realizes that we don’t all live in a perfect gluten free world with all the time and resources in the world. But she also knows that with a little effort and support from others you can live happily gluten free.  I would recommend this book to ANYONE who follows a gluten free diet or people who are interested in learning more about it. It’s even a great book to have your family and friends read (I even assigned a chapter to my husband to read). This book can get you on the right track to start living GF, or inspire you love your GF life and make it easier ever day!

 

PS – Elisabeth Hasselbeck seems like such an awesome gal! It my little imaginary world where I’m way cooler than I actually am, I think we would get along great. I desperately want to meet her, and if she ever does any speaking engagements or book tours in Colorado I’ll totally be there. And if that happens, I will probably call her by her first name and invite her over for muffins.

Leave a Reply

