Blend Yourself a Little Happiness

Morning is a great place to start with a little happiness, and one of the ways I like to do it is SMOOTHIE-STYLE. I love to whip up a smoothie first thing in the morning, or even as  post-early-morning-run meal. When I’m super organized I will make one the night before and bring it to work for my morning boost. It’s a great chance to add a little protein to your meal and can be easy-peasy for gluten-freer’s as well as gluten-eaters. You can make a delicious smoothie so many ways, and I usually just throw whatever I’ve got in the fridge and freezer in the blender. However, I have had my share of extra-special-amazing ones, so I thought I would share the recipes here. Enjoy, and let me know your favorite smoothie recipe!

Raspberry Peaches ‘N’ Cream

1 soy peach yogurt cup

1/2 cup canned, fresh or frozen peaches

1/2 cup frozen whole raspberries

1 cup soy milk

1 tbsp honey

1 scoop rice protein powder (or protein powder of your choice – I like nutribiotics vanilla)

Blend and Enjoy!

Calorie Count

458 cal – 7 grams fat – 79 grams carbs – 61 grams sugar – 9 grams fiber – 24 grams protein

Peanut Butter and Banana Delight

2 tbsp natural peanut butter

1 scoop chocolate protein powder

1 tbsp honey

1 cup soy milk

1 banana

Throw it all in the blender and taste the delicious-ness! This is a higher calorie smoothie, but it is high in protein. Remember, this would be a MEAL…not the drink WITH your meal 😉

Calorie Count

539 cal – 21 grams fat – 65 grams carbs – 43 grams sugar – 9 grams fiber – 27 grams protein

And finally the Old Stand-by…

Strawberry Banana Swirl

1 cup frozen strawberries

1 banana

1 cup fruit juice (orange or cran-raspberry are my favorites)

1/4 cup of milk (optional if you like it extra creamy)

1 scoop vanilla protein powder

Swirl and Slurp! Yum!!

Calorie Count (without milk)

 258 cal – 1 gram fat – 49 grams carbs – 12 grams fiber – 26 grams sugar – 12 grams protein

2 thoughts on “Blend Yourself a Little Happiness

    • MMM…I love the idea of using green tea as the liquid! Lower calorie and a little caffeine to kick start the day! I’ll have to try this one!

Leave a Reply

