A Tropical Twist to a Bland Breakfast

I got the great idea from my pal the Gluten Free College Gal to start making Cream of Buckwheat cereal in the morning. I have recently started using buckwheat flour in my baking and am absolutely smitten with it…so I thought I would give it a try. I used to love eating a warm bowl of oatmeal on a cool morning so I thought this might replace it. Well..it doesn’t. But I’m working on it. Cream of Buckwheat is WAY better than Cream of Rice, but I can’t bring myself to enjoy eating it plain, or even with some soy milk. So THIS morning I added a tropical twist! I cooked up the buckwheat last night so it could just be re-heated this morning. I added a tbsp of almond butter, some chopped up mango and some unsweetened coconut shavings. Topped off with a  little soy milk. It was actually pretty good! I love the combination of coconut and mango, it makes me feel like I’m relaxing in Hawaii. And the breakfast was really filling too! I will definitely keep making Cream of Buckwheat, it’s got a lot of potential and I’m excited to see what other ways I can twist it up! I think apples and cinnamon would be delicious.

Leave a Reply

