My First Food Review

I was recently asked to do a food review for Udi’s Artisan Bakery and I got to sample the gluten free whole grain bread. MMM..mmm…here’s my first shot at a food review:

Whole_bread_pic

Food Review: Udi’s Gluten Free Whole Grain Bread

 

There is a big place in my heart for wholesome, delicious home-made bread. The place has not been satisfied for almost 5 years, since I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease, an autoimmune disease that is treated by following a gluten free diet for life. I thought I would never eat bread again. Over the years, I have tried numerous brands and types of gluten free breads and none of them were even close to measuring up to the real thing. Then I stumbled upon Udi’s. Udi’s Artisan Bakery is a small company based out of Denver that began its business with artisan breads and granolas. They have recently realized the huge demand for a GOOD gluten free bread and man, have they stepped up to the plate! Udi’s Whole Grain gluten free bread is the first gluten free sandwich bread that I have found worthy of packing in my lunch box for a sandwich. Not only does this texture resemble gluten-filled wheat bread (a little denser, but I like that) it can hold up to sandwiches and other toppings that other gluten free breads crumbled beneath. Udi’s bread is delicious both toasted and un-toasted, which is a rare feat for gluten free breads, which usually have a strange flavor when un-toasted. Though the loaf and slice size are smaller than most normal breads, it is bigger than many gluten free options I have explored. I also love that the crust is just like regular bread, and I especially love the crunch when it’s toasted. Since I have discovered Udi’s Whole Grain Bread, I have been able to enjoy some of my past favorites: egg sandwiches, a good ol’ PB&J, and my favorite treat, cinnamon -sugar toast. Udi’s bread may not be homemade in my kitchen, and I still can’t enjoy that smell of fresh, hot bread coming out of my oven, but when I take a bite – I forget about all of that and enjoy the next best thing since sliced bread!!!

 

Udi’s GF products can be ordered online @ www.udisglutenfree.com or can be found at King Soopers, and many natural food stores. If your grocery store doesn’t carry it, ask for it! That is the best way to start getting what you want out of your grocery store.

 

Happy Tuesday!!!

Leave a Reply

