February Food Fun

It was a chilly but thankfully sunny February day here in CO, and I am still sick. Ugh. So – needless to say, I don’t have any brilliant workout news to share, but I will be super happy to get into the gym again soon (maybe in the next few days?!) An easy walk today before the sun disappeared sure did the body and the mind a bit of good.

 

Today I thought I would give a little update on some of the fun stuff I’ve been whipping up in my kitchen lately. But before that – I thought I would share a little something that I heard today. The Baby Back Ribs at Outback Steakhouse have over 3,000 calories a plate! Are you KIDDING me?! I know this was totally random, but I couldn’t let this crazy fact go unshared. I found this online reading about “Eat This Not That”. There are some mind blowing nutrition facts revealed in that stuff! If you are ever eating out it’s a great way to check out some healthier restaurant options. Who knew that the Thai Salad at CPK has 2,200 calories?!

After that random note, I will get into my kitchen and hopefully a lot less calories. The other night I was in the mood for something with a twist, so I concocted my very own Asian style salmon dinner.

EASY ASIAN SALMON DINNER

I used 2 salmon fillets and marinated them in 1/4 cup soy sauce, 2 tbsp Orange Mandarin & Sesame dressing, a dash of onion powder and a whole lot of sesame seeds. I then cooked them up stove top for a super flavorful version of my favorite fish! For sides, I made some cayenne and garlic spiced sweet potato fries and asparagus roasted with sesame oil and toasted sesame seeds. MmmMmm delish!

 

Another new adventure this week came in the baking department. I had a bunch of super ripe (aka black and stinky) bananas that I didn’t want to go to waste. However, I still had a bunch of banana muffins in my freezer so I headed to the internet for some new ideas. What did I come up with? Black Bottomed Banana Bars!! This was a great gluten free recipe from www.celiac.com.

(this is not my picture – but mine looked pretty dang close to this one!

This picture comes from www.beckyhiggins.com)

 

GF Black Bottomed Banana Bars

½ cup butter or margarine
1 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 ½ cups mashed ripe bananas (about 3 medium)
1 ½ cups GF flour mix (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon xanthan gum
¼ cup baking cocoa
(optional: ½ cup chocolate chips added to the dark batter–I did this and the result is delicious)

You could also add chopped pecans. You could also dust with powdered sugar after they cool.

In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add egg and vanilla extract; beat until thoroughly combined. Blend in the bananas.

Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt; add to creamed mixture and mix well. Divide batter in half. Add cocoa to half; spread into a greased 13 x 9-inch baking pan. Spoon remaining batter on top and swirl with a knife. Bake at 350F for 25 minutes or until the bars test done.

Yields about 2 ½to 3 dozen bars.

These turned out to be delicious treats! They came out with a super strong banana flavor, which might be too much for some, but I attribute that to my extra-ripe bananas. After a day or so, the bars got softer, but I just popped a piece into my toaster oven for that little toasted touch 🙂

Tonight I am try the Gluten Free Goddess’s GF Chocolate Cupcakes with Coffee Icing for my pal’s birthday tomorrow. I’m super excited to see how they work out!!

Leave a Reply

