Sunday Afternoon Notes

What a perfect Sunday afternoon. I just finished up w/a 2 mile run in the sunny outdoors and a P90X leg workout – whew! Relaxing now with a nice warm mocha ūüôā

I had a great weekend, with a lot of fun gluten free discoveries. My hubby and I took a mini spring break road-trip down to Colorado Springs, despite a ridiculous spring snow storm on Friday morning. Uck. Thankfully, we live in Colorado and by Saturday morning the sun was shining and the snow had disappeared.

On Friday afternoon, after a blizzard-y hike through the Garden of the Gods, we spent some time exploring downtown Manitou Springs. We found the perfect afternoon stop at Coquette Creperie. Such a¬†cute little shop, and a great place to warm up from the inside out! The creperie makes all of their crepes gluten free as well as offers gluten free paninis. We orded an apple pie crepe that was AMAZING. I haven’t had a crepe since I have gone gluten free, and now I am determined to learn to make them myself. It was delicious! We complemented the crepe with¬†the Bellagio Mocha – which came served creatively in a glass instead of a¬†mug which I loved. The Bellagio chocolate is gluten free and so rich and creamy. I will have to keep my eyes open for this too.

 

For dinner back in Colorado Springs, we went to what is becoming our standard date restaurant…PF Changs. I was surprised however, that since the last time we went there, they have added their gluten free menu to the actual menu, which obviously is super convenient – no more asking for a special menu! There also seemed to be much more on the GF menu than I had remembered too. We ordered the chicken lettuce wraps as an appetizer (always a winner in my book) and followed with Chang’s Spicy Chicken and M0ngolian Beef, both with brown rice. Both dishes were great, but the beef was quite possibly the best I have EVER had. It was so nice being able to order from the GF menu for both my husband and I, and know that it would be absolutely delish. This was one of the first meals we’ve ever had at a restaurant where we could share EVERYTHING! We finished up with my favorite indulgence, the Flourless Chocolate Torte. YUM. Enough Said.

On Saturday afternoon, we wove ourselves through downtown Colorado Springs in search of the Outside the Breadbox Bakery. I have had a few of their products that are offered in stores up here in Fort Collins, but was excited to see what they had to offer at their bakery. I was so impressed! There were samples of everything from saltine crackers to chocolate chip cookies to pizza crust to multigrain bread…whew! Too much to even try everything! In the back of the shop is the freezers, where this weekend everything was 65% off. What a deal! For those of you who have ever shopped for GF baked goods, you know what kind of deal this was. I am still kicking myself for not buying the entire freezer-full. I ended up walking out with mini pizza crusts, graham cracker crumbs, apple pie, a loaf of Montina Bread and a bag of bagels…all for $15!!!! Kicking myself…still kicking myself! I’m already planning my next trip down there just to stock up.

Saturday afternoon we checked out Pikes Perk Coffee and Tea House, apparently voted Colorado Springs’ best local coffee. Though I don’t have a lot to compare it with, I would have to agree. Our Mega Mountain Mocha was pretty dang good. And the atmosphere of the shop was super fun. Games, paintings, books, etc. I would definately check it out if you’re ever in the area.

Our final food stop of the road trip was in dowtown Denver for dinner with the in-laws. We went to our favorite local Italian restaurant which I would highly recommend for anyone, gluten free or not. The prices are kind of high, but everything I have ever had there is delicious. They have gluten free noodles that can be substituted in almost any of their dishes. We started with the caprese salad (always my favorite) and I tried the pesto chicken dish for my meal. It was great, and the gluten free noodles were perfect.

Pagliacci's

 

All in all – a super successful gluten free eatin’ weekend, wasn’t it?! I was really excited, and though it maybe didn’t sound like we would have time to do¬†anything but eat, we had a great time seeing¬†the sites in C-Springs,¬†and we especially loved the Olympic Training Center. After all of¬†this eating, I better get training as well!!

Leave a Reply

