Training Update + GF Cooking with Oats

What a great weekend/week it has been. I have discovered some delicious new recipes, been having a great time training for my first triathlon, and even had an awesome GF Meet Up & Eat Up last weekend sampling gluten free beer (Red Bridge)  and indulging in Mancino’s GF pizza! I will be posting about this event on our Meet Up blog soon soon soon so be sure to check it out. www.GFMeetUpandEatUp.wordpress.com

I’m on week 4 of 11 for my triathlon training. Last Friday I did my first “Brick” workout with a 1 hour bike ride and a 2 mile run. I’m not sure why it is called “Brick”, except for the fact that that’s what my legs felt like on the run!! I’m going to have to keep working on these. I have also been enjoying improving at swimming. It’s fun when you can see yourself go from one level to the next in just a few weeks of conditioning. I’m trying to still get at least 2 days a week of weight training in, and I am enjoying those change-of-pace days as well. I feel like triathlon training is the perfect balance. Although I’m working out 6 days a week, I feel like I have recovery built into even my 6 workout days. Doing each “sport” only twice a week, my body is totally ready to go again the next time it rolls around. I’m loving it!

As for my GF adventures cooking with oats – I am ecstatic! I had been craving oats so badly lately, that I started to look into doing some cooking with them. There is always a debate with G-Free Peeps eating oats due to cross contamination,so I used a gluten free brand. Some experts also say that our celiac tummy’s may not be ready for oats immediately after diagnoses, so they recommend waiting a year before reintroducing them. Well, I’ve been GF for almost 5 years now, and I’m ready for oats!!! I started with modifying a recipe for granola bars that I found at www.allrecipes.com. I used my GF Oats and a GF all purpose flour mix in place of wheat flour. They turned out great and were a perfect re-fuel snack after our brick workout last Friday! I devoured the pan in about 3 days 🙂 Here’s the recipe:

CHEWY G-FREE GRANOLA BARS

2 cups gluten free oats

1/4 cup gluten free all-purpose baking flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup softened butter

4 tbsp honey or agave nectar

2 heaping Tbsp brown sugar

1/4 cup gluten free mini chocolate chips

1/4 cup dried cranberries or raisins

Mix all of the ingredients together, blending the butter and honey to hold everything together. Press into a greased 8×8 square baking dish. Bake at 325 degrees for 18-25 minutes, or until golden brown. The bars will fall apart until they are completely cooled.

My next try with gluten free oats was EVEN BETTER! I had swooned over the Gluten Free Goddess’ Breakfast Quinoa Bars recipe in the past, but hadn’t had a chance to try it yet.  When I saw another link to the recipe (Glamour.com yesterday!) I couldn’t hold back anymore! I used oats in place of the Quinoa Flakes (mostly because I didn’t have quinoa flakes, but also because I HEART oats – and they both a high in fiber and protein). I got up extra early to make these this morning and MAN was it worth it!!! This was probably the best bar/baking concoction I have made in a looooonnngggg time!! It was so filling  and satisfying and not too sweet for the perfect morning pick-me-up. I highly recommend checking out Karina’s blog for this recipe (try it with quinoa and let me know what you think!) or many others that are all deliciously successful. Here’s the link to the Quinoa Breakfast Bars with Blueberries Recipe.

Oatmeal Blueberry Breakfast Bar

Have a delicious gluten free day my friends!!!

Leave a Reply

