A Little Food, A Little Fitness

Happy Friday! I haven’t blogged about fitness lately I have realized, since I have been so enamored with FOOD! But we all know about my quest for balance, so that means baking = working out. Haha. That is definately a necessity in my life. The other night while I was on a total baking spree (cupcakes, frosting, pizza dough & graham crackers – all in 2 hrs) I spent the baking time doing jumping jacks, pushups and abs. I want you to know that you don’t have to go to the gym for an hour to get active. Most of my workouts are more intense than the at-home baking workout I described, but what matters is that I took an opportunity to get moving. If you’re looking for ways to add a few minutes of extra activity to your day, try these 5 tips:

1. Do 30 squats while brushing your teeth

2. Walk around the block before heading to your car in the morning.

3. Take the stairs (we have all heard this one, but hey – it’s true)

4. Do abs during commercials of your favorite shows.

5. Lunge your way around the house!

I also found an AWESOME super-set workout from Jackie Warner (from Bravo’s Workout) in Fitness Rx magazine the other day that kicked my booty! If you’re looking for something a little more hardcore than living room abs – check it out!! My glutes were sore for days! I love it because with hand weights you can do this workout at home. I did it at the gym and added spin bike intervals in between each set.

Finally, we can’t forget food. I wanted to share a quick recipe that I conjured up yesterday for my lunch. I discovered that you can take random food from your fridge and make a delicious AND nutritious meal!!!

Summer Spinach Salad

2 cups baby spinach

1/2 mango – chopped up

1/2 avocado – in chunks

1 grilled chicken breast (with cayenne, cumin and garlic)

Lime juice from 1/2 a lime.

Top the greens with the mango, chicken and avocado. Give a good squeeze to the lime and sprinkle all over. No dressing needed! Delish!

Leave a Reply

