Running Update – 150 miles down – 1.5 weeks to go!

Well – we’ve almost made it! My best pal/running buddy/husband and I have been training for 2 months, and have a week and half to go until our first half marathon. This week we hit 150 miles of training logged! I am struggling with the fact that I don’t feel as mentally prepared as I would like to be, but I know that physically we are totally ready to take this race on. I have hit so many milestones while training for this run, which has made the mileage much more bearable. Before February, I had never run more than 7 miles. Each long run we did hit a new “furthest ever” milestone which was very rewarding. I also have finally jumped the “speed hurdle”. Now, I’m definitely no speed-demon, but my body has FINALLY figured out how to go a little bit faster! For the past 2 years I feel I would run, I would add distance, I would do some intervals, but I NEVER GOT FASTER. I don’t know if it was the pure mileage in this program, the integrated tempo and interval runs or the fact that my running partner is a foot taller than me – but I don’t really care – I’m running faster! My stride is becoming more efficient and I feel like I can give myself a “kick” when I need it.

I am also really excited about how my body has been dealing with running. I have always had terrible stomach issues with running, and extreme side/all over stomach cramps were a constant issue. Through training and finding a few special foods my tummy can handle – I finished a 12 mile run last weekend without so much as a stitch! Whew! It feels good to not be so worried about keeling over in stomach pain. We have also both been blessed with relatively low pain during training. We’ve had some sore knees, but <<knock on wood>> no serious pain issues.

Another great thing that has come out of this training is how fun it was to do it with my husband. We have never worked out together before, and it’s still probably not our favorite thing to do together, but those long Sunday runs together really made it easier! It was also great to have someone to be accountable with for our mid-week “alone workouts”.

So, I’m talking about our training as if it is over. NOT SO FAST! We are spending this next week and half tapering a little bit, doing lots of stretching and being extra conscious of our eating. My goal is to really eliminate a lot of the extra sugar that I consume (aka gluten free muffins!) and increase my WHOLE FOOD CONSUMPTION. My big step this week? I made homemade hummus (recipe to follow) and have been bringing carrots and snap peas to work each day as my snack. I feel like a vegetable eating machine! I hope to continue these healthy eating changes even after the race is complete.

I can’t wait to post an update on how the race went – we’re getting really excited for it! I’m extra excited because I just got a new pair of running shoes that I will get to use AFTER I finish the race.

GOTTA KEEP ON RUNNING!!!

 

Easy-Peasy Hummus Recipe (sesame free)

1 can chickpeas (garbanzo beans) – reserve the liquid

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp fresh chopped basil

1 tbsp minced garlic

Salt and Pepper to taste

Blend the ingredients in a food processor (or a blender if your food processor sucks like mine). If the paste is too thick – add the liquid reserved from the beans, or water until it reaches a good texture.

Dip fresh veggies or chips (Beanitos –yeah baby!) or use as a spread on sandwiches or wraps

I can’t wait to try adding roasted red peppers to this recipe for a special twist!!

Leave a Reply

