Weekends are for Waffles

What a treat! Waffles evoke a lot of memories for me…of being a little kid helping my dad make waffles on a Saturday morning, and filling each toasty little square with loads of butter and syrup. Unfortunately, it’s been years since I’ve had a real, fresh, homemade Belgium waffle. Sure, I have a box of GF toaster waffles in the freezer, but they are no comparison. Several years ago when I was still pretty new to g-free baking, I tried making a batch of gluten free waffles with my mom, resulting in a messy, sticky failure. Well, recently my mind has been in waffle world – and I have been dying to try again. Finally…the weekend was it – Waffle Weekend! I borrowed my parents waffle iron (yes, the same one that made my favorite childhood breakfast treats 20+ years ago) and gave it a major cleaning. I needed to make sure any remenants of gluten-filled waffles were gone. Then I realized I didn’t have a recipe! I did a quick internet search and found a decent looking recipe on a vegan waffle website. The original post is here at WaffleParty.com. I made a few changes, splitting the cup of buckwheat flour into 1/2 cup buckwheat and 1/2 cup sorghum. I substituted Agave Nectar for the molasses, because I simply don’t really like molasses!!  Finally, I used rice milk instead of soy – and I’m sure whatever kind of milk you prefer would work fine. I made sure to give my waffle iron a good spray of canola oil before each waffle – and they really did come out perfectly clean! I couldn’t believe how great they worked out, even from the first try! I topped the waffles with soy-free Earth Balance, and an easy fresh blackberry sauce (see recipe below).

The breakfast was absolutely delicious and very satisfying! I’m so grateful to have waffles back in my life – and I can’t wait to experiment with more allergy-free waffle recipes!

Easy Blackberry Sauce (perfect for topping waffles or pancakes)

1 cup fresh blackberries

1/4 cup water

1 tbsp lemon juice

1/4 cup sugar

2 Tbsp tapioca starch

Stir frequently while bringing to  a boil. Occasionally mash the blackberries as they start cooking. Once boiling, reduce heat to medium-low and let simmer and thicken. I like keeping it kind of chunky, but you could puree it before serving as well.

One thought on “Weekends are for Waffles

Leave a Reply

