Lemon Bars – a delicious Easter dessert!

I survived my first egg-less Easter. It was actually easier than I thought , although passing on my favorite Easter treat (DEVILED EGGS!) broke my heart slightly. I was soon recovered though, remembering what I had made for dessert.

Lemon bars make everything a WHOLE LOT better. I figured lemon bars would be a perfect springtime sweet, so I experimented with a brand new recipe. I was really impressed with how these turned out, and they were extremely well-received by my gluten-eating family. I started with a recipe out of one of my favorite cookbooks “The Allergen-Free Baker’s Handbook” (find it on Amazon here), and made a few changes (no lime in my version) added my own twist with a homemade raspberry sauce topping instead of powdered sugar. I wish I could share a picture, but it was a crazy weekend and before I knew it, the pan was empty!  I will have to share a real picture next time I make them, because they really are beautiful.

Enjoy!

 

Lemon Bars with Raspberry Topping (Allergy Free!)

 

 Crust:

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 cup all-purpose GF flour mix (I used Pamela’s Bread Mix – so I didn’t add the xanthan gum. Check your mix to see if you need it)

1/2 tsp xanthan gum

5 tbsp shortening (go for dairy-free/soy-free if needed)

Lemon Layer

4 1/2 tsp egg replacer mixed with 6 tbsp rice milk

3/4 cup granulated sugar

Juice of 2 large juicy lemons (or 1/2 cup freshly squeezed juice – you may need more than 2 lemons)

Zest from 2 lemons

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1/2 tsp baking powder (remember to check corn content if you avoid corn)

1/8 tsp salt

3 tbsp all-purpose GF flour mix

Raspberry Drizzle Topping

1 cup fresh or frozen raspberries

1 tbsp lemon juice

2 tbsp water

2 tbsp granulated sugar

1 tbsp tapioca starch

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease an 8×8 inch baking pan.

2. To make the crust, combine the sugar, flour and xanthan gum in a mixer. Add the shortening and mix on medium speed until crumbly.

3. Press the crust into the pan with your fingertips. Flatten with the palm of your hand.

4. Bake for 15 minutes

5. Meanwhile, to make the lemon layer, whist the egg replacer until foamy. Add the sugar, lemon juice and zest, vanilla, baking powder, salt, and flour mix. Mix well.

6. Pour over the crust and bake for 25 minutes, or until set.

7. While your bars are baking, make your raspberry drizzle topping. Place all ingredients in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Then reduce to a simmer until thick and the sauce is smooth. You may need to smash the berries while they cook. Sauce will thicken as it cools.

8. Let the lemon bars cool completely, as well as the raspberry drizzle. Cover the bars with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight. Drizzle the raspberry topping before serving.

Leave a Reply

