Working Out for Fun!

I just got back from one of the best workouts I’ve had in a long time. What started out as laying, moaning in my bed  – thinking about how I would NEVER have motivation to work out again (such a drama queen, I know)…I finally got myself out the door on what looked to be a boring, regular morning jog.  I decided before I hit the pavement that I had to exercise for 1 hour today, and it could be WHATEVER I wanted to do. If you know me, this isn’t normal. I typically work off of a color-coded, calendar spreadsheet for my workouts. Not today.  Just move for 60 minutes. However you want to. “Ok, I thought, I can do this”.

 

As I started out jogging slowly, I looked around and realized…it is a beautiful, sunny, springColoradomorning and I get to do whatever I want in it – and I have 60 minutes! It’s amazing how quickly your mood can change when you start moving outside. Once I got to the park that I typically jog around on the nice little path – I stopped. I ended up “playing” through most of my workout! From wall sits, to jumping jacks, hill runs…hey, I even was dancing at the top of the hill! Thank goodness it was early and I was the only one around! I jogged throughout the park, stopping wherever I pleased to get a set of abs, or cardio, or whatever in. I even tried a few pull-ups on the playground, and went down the slide! I can’t remember the last time I had that much fun during a workout. On the final mile running home, I couldn’t stop smiling, and my legs were happier than they have been in a long time! I wrapped up my 60 minutes with some bosu abs in my living room, and my 1 hour was already finished! I feel ready to take on anything today – maybe even a few more minutes of workout fun! I know I could use more “play-time” in my life and my workout. Sometimes I think it is good (especially for those crazy type-A, OCD types – like me!) to just not worry about what  “you should do” and do what your body wants to do. Workouts plans are a great way to stay on track, train for races and reach goals, but sometimes a break is good.

 

What is your favorite FUN workout? If you could step away from your training plan today and just do what you wanted for exercise, what would you do?

2 thoughts on “Working Out for Fun!

  1. I can totally relate to not being motivated to work out. But then I heard a quote from Zig Ziglar that changed that, “Motivation follows action.” So like you, I realized that I had to act first and then I would be motivated. Which reminds me, it has been a couple weeks… 🙂

  2. I have several fun workout. I love hiking, going to the woods and all the obstacles and uphill climb. Dancing is fun too, hella fun especially for a music person like me. And jogging is nice to start a day

Leave a Reply

