Fit Girl: Rise and Shine!

I’m a morning girl. All of my favorite things happen in the morning.

 

Breakfast.

Coffee.

Morning sunshine pouring into my kitchen.

 

But perhaps one of my favorite things about morning is the way it feels to get out and run in the crisp, quiet, untouched air of the morning. I can’t imagine a better way to start the day than getting out for a nice morning run. I don’t always get to run first thing in the morning, but when I get the chance – I completely relish it. There are no excuses first thing in the morning. You simply roll out of bed, tie up your shoes and head out. No late work meetings, stressful days that turned into headaches, dinner to make, dates to get ready for…all you have to do is run.

 

I subscribe to the RunnersWorld.com’s “Daily Kick in the Butt” – and waking up to a new running quote each morning really is motivating! One of my favorites lately relates to morning runs.

 

“When you run in the morning, you gain time. It’s like stretching 24 hours into 25. You may need to sleep less and get up earlier, but if you can get by that, running early seems to expand the day. ”  – Fred Lebow, Founder of the New York City Marathon

 

Enjoy your day, enjoy your run, and soak up the outdoors no matter what time you make it out the door!

 

Side Note: I want to say Happy Memorial Day and a HUGE thank you to all of our troops who have and are currently serving for our country. Your sacrifice is one of the greatest their is. I sang “Proud to be an American” by Lee Greenwood throughout most of my run this morning. Thank a soldier today 🙂 

 

Leave a Reply

