Morning Indulgence

I am OBSESSED with a new recipe I tried this morning and I just had to share it with you. Unfortunately (like so many of my food discoveries) I guzzled it down so fast I forgot to take a picture. I guess you will just have to make your own to see the thick-creamy-chocolate-cherry-goodness yourself. I took a recipe from Elisabeth Hasselbeck’s new book “Deliciously G-Free: Food So Flavorful They’ll Never Believe It’s Gluten-Free” . There are some great recipes in this book – especially if gluten is the only food you are avoiding. It isn’t very “other-allergen” friendly, but with some creativity I’m sure you could modify the recipes. 

 

This brings me to my breakfast. I made my take on Hasselbeck’s “Black Forest Smoothie” and I’m still in awe of the amazingness! Here’s my recipeImage:

 

 

Alyssa’s Dark Chocolate Cherry Shake

 

1 cup frozen unsweetened dark cherries (Dole)

1/2 small ripe avocado

2 tbsp Hershey’s dark chocolate cocoa powder

1 packet of stevia (optional)

1 tbsp brown rice protein powder

1.5 cups Rice Dream Original Enriched rice milk

 

Blend and Indulge! Mine came out really thick, so I ate it with the spoon. This was my first time using an avocado in a smoothie and I’m totally hooked! This recipe is also a great post workout recovery shake, though kind of high in calories to be a snack.

 

Here are the nutrition details: Calories: 422, Carbs: 70g, Fat: 13g, Protein: 17g

 

What is your favorite morning indulgence? Do you like avocados in your smoothies?

Leave a Reply

