2012 – A “Run”- Down

There is officially 1 more day of 2012! I can’t believe how fast this year has flown by! I suppose a lot of changes, fun and travels have contributed :). I haven’t done a very good job of regular posts the second half of this year- so as I have been reflecting and reminiscing over the past year I thought it would be appropriate to do a little “run-down” of my year.

On the food front – I think I have finally reached a point where I know my body and what it can handle – and also have healed enough to be able to handle little bits of foods that I haven’t been able to enjoy in previous years. I know how to reign myself back in when my stomach starts to get angry (too many of those little bits can add up quickly!). By cutting out sugar and increasing my whole, raw food intake I can usually get back on track pretty quickly. I am so thankful to feel healthy, have more energy and feel like I have a more control over my own body.

And then there is running. 2012 has been a fantastic year for me. Although I spent a good amount of time rehabbing a long-time hamstring injury and had a little speedbump with some achilles tendonitis – I am happy to say I feel like a stronger runner than I have in my life. The more I learn about my body the more successful I feel like I can be. I have heard that 26 is a female’s athletic peak – and while I am proud to say that I PR’d in my 5K, 10K and half marathon distances this year… but I am confident that this isn’t my peak! I can’t wait to keep kicking some butt and continuing to improve. This girl is nowhere near her peak!

I had the opportunity to run through 2012 by not only hitting the streets and trails of Northern Colorado – but also all over the country. Running is one of my favorite ways to see a new city – and I had so many great traveling opportunities this year that I made it a point to always pack my running shoes. It’s pretty awesome to think about where my running shoes have been this year and all of the memories I have made throughout our travels. As we all wrap up 2012  – I hope you have made some great fitness memories. I hope you have something to be proud of this year. If not – what a great opportunity to set a goal for 2013. It’s never to late to start something big. Do something you love and do it well. I’m going to wrap up this post with a photo journey of some of my shoes’ travels in 2012.

Where was your favorite run this year?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Kona, Hawaii – I spent several beautiful mornings enjoying the beautiful ocean views and my favorite…palm trees! I even go to see the starting point of the Kona Ironman – and run on part of the course! An amazing family vacation!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANashville, Tennesee – this was my first trip to Tennessee and I fell in love with it! I got to travel with my best pal and running buddy Amanda and we ran the Country Music Half Marathon ( a Rock N Roll Race). I PR’d in this race and for the first time ever felt like a “real runner”. It was hot and hilly but we kicked some butt! What a fun city to run through!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia – This trip was for a wedding! We stayed in Colonial Williamsburg, just blocks from the historic Duke of Gloucester Street and William and Mary College. It was ridiculously hot and humid – so the run was short and involved a decent amount of walking. But we hit DoC street and some of the college campus. We wrapped up our morning run with yummy food from the historic Cheese Shoppe! Yum!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Niagara Falls, NY – I had the chance to go to my husband’s family reunion near Niagara Falls this summer. It was my first time seeing the falls and such a fun weekend with a bunch of crazy <FUN> Italians! Several of the “cousins” went for a beautiful trail run along the Niagara River.

IMAG0375

Pelican Rapids, MN – My “hometown”. I never actually have lived in Minnesota – but both of my parents grew up here and it is the one place I have visited my entire life. Most of my relatives still live here and every time I visit it just feels like home. I love being a part of a small town and being surrounded by farms and by dozens of Minnesota’s 10,000 lakes. I got to run down some country roads as well as a trail run with my uncle through Maplewood State Park.

IMAG0489

Fort Collins, CO – While traveling is amazing, I am pretty dang lucky to call this place my home. I get the opportunity week and week out to explore the trails in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, the sidewalks to one of the most beautiful towns I’ve ever seen and the extensive network of bike trails all over town. I have spent miles on the Spring Creek Trail, the Poudre Trail, running through Old Town and CSU campus.

I am one lucky runner 🙂

Happy New Year – Happy Trails!

~Alyssa

Leave a Reply

