Treadmill Workout to Beat the Winter Blues

I love running outside, and most of the time would rather do pretty much anything else, but run on a treadmill. I find it so boring, the time usually ticks on so slowly, that I end up doing a much shorter run that I would outside. I just don’t have the patience. However, we are in the midst of a cold, winter-y streak here in Colorado and I’ve had enough of freezing my buns off. So today, I succumbed to the treadmill. I made sure to have a solid plan before I started, so as not to quit early because I felt like it. I headed to my parent’s basement (the cheapest gym around, right?) and hopped on the treadmill. After struggling for 10 minutes with the TV REMOTE…I realized that ESPN would be the channel of the day. Apparently I’m not tech-savvy enough to turn on the cable and actually change channels on a strange TV.

I was so pleasantly surprised at how GREAT I felt during the workout! I did 1/4 mile intervals…not super fast, but enough to make the time fly by. I also  thoroughly enjoyed “Around the Horn” and “PTI”. It brought back memories of working out in my high school weight room after school! So, not only do I now know all about the Alex Smith trade to the Chiefs, I got a great run in, better than most of my recent outdoor runs!  It was rather refreshing to not have to layer up before working out, and to get down right sweaty instead of frozen boogers.

This one run hasn’t turned me into a treadmill queen by any means, but it’s encouraging to know that my weekly mileage doesn’t have to be affected by the weather. And maybe I’ll make it through a few more treadmill workouts before this winter is over.

Want to do the workout? This 4 mile workout is perfect for a beginner speed workout or just to make the time pass by. I was going pretty slow today – so you can adjust your speeds to make it challenging for YOU!

Image

Do you like treadmill workouts, or do you brave the elements no matter what?
What’s your favorite thing to watch on TV during cardio?
Disclaimer: Although I am an AFAA certified Personal Fitness Trainer, you should consult a physician before starting any exercise program or diet. If you choose to do any workouts on this website, you do so at your own risk. 
Leave a Reply

