Momma’s Banana Bread

This recipe is truly “Momma’s Banana Bread”. Not only is it the recipe I grew up with my mom baking (just my easy gluten free conversion), but literally – half the ingredients were hers too. See, I raided her kitchen last night while my family is out of town, vacationing in Hawaii.

Eggs, check. over-ripe bananas, check.

Hey – I don’t have any guilt about my late night kitchen raid across town. Here I am in blustery, wintery, never ending cold Colorado, while my family is spending a week in balmy Hawaii – and sending me beach-filled pictures daily as a friendly reminder that I am here, and they are there.

 

IMG957803

 

Untitled

 

All vacation-jealousy aside, this truly is one of my favorite recipes and it came to me after years of missing out on one of my favorite childhood treats. It’s perfect for a cold winter day, or a heart warming treat after a long run. I’m not sure why it took me so long to just try to modify my mom’s tried-and-true recipe , I have spent years trying other people’s recipes and they never were quite the same.

A few weeks ago I tested it out and was shocked and amazedthat with just a few swaps, I had a gluten free (and lower sugar) version of Momma’s Banana Bread that was pretty much, almost exactly as perfect as the one I remember from being a kid. Woohoo! Anyone who has ever tried to re-create a gluten-filled favorite knows that it takes a little luck to make it happen. Well, I sure got lucky. Who would have thought that this would be so easy!? How did I live without this for the last 8 years?

 

Wanna try it? Go ahead, make it. It will warm your soul. Unless you are in Hawaii, and then you are plenty warm already.

 

IMAG0185

 

Momma’s Banana Bread

1/2 cup shortening (I used Spectrum Organic)

1/4 cup white sugar + 1 packet of stevia

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

2 eggs (I think these are key, so I decided not to use egg replacer. If I did, I would try flax eggs probably)

2 cups Bob’s Red Mill All-Purpose GF Flour

1 tsp baking soda

3 medium bananas – black and mushy and super over-ripe!

  1. Cream your shortening, sugar, stevia and applesauce together.
  2. Add the eggs and mix until combined.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk flour together with baking soda (hey look! No gums added!)
  4. Blend your wet ingredients with the flour mixture. Then mix in the mashed bananas.
  5. Pour into a large loaf pan (greased first!) and bake at 350 degrees for 45 -50 minutes.

 

Your turn!

  • Have you ever converted a childhood favorite recipe to gluten free?
  • Are you spring-breaking somewhere warm?
One thought on “Momma’s Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Saturday Morning Coffee Date | Food Girl's Fit Life

Leave a Reply

