Coal the Running Pup

This little pup thinks he’s a runner.

IMAG0298

And I suppose, like I tell everyone else, “If you run – you are a runner”.

Ok, this pup is a runner. A sprinter actually. A hill climber. A mountain goat. A rock sniffer. A fencepost pee-er. And today – my running partner.

This is my parents dog Coal – and, when he wouldn’t leave my heels when I was getting ready to go for a run today, I decided to give him a shot.

I would call the run “SPAZ-TASTIC”  – which I guess is how I would typically describe Coal on any normal day too. It took him about 2 miles to stop plowing through weeds and actually trot like a normal dog (most of the time) Between pulling my arm out ahead of me and abrupt stops to smell a rock, he kept up a speedy pace the entire run. We ran trails, up hills, around lakes all over the Fort Collins foothills. Overall, I have to say I’m mighty impressed. This little pup cruised through 5+ miles like it was nothing.

It was also kind of fun to see the pure joy (do dogs feel joy?) of him running the trails. Always exploring, always happy. When we rounded the corner to head back home, he froze in his tracks. It was snowing/hailing, we were soaked, I was tired, but he wanted to keep running.

I think we could all take a lesson from Coal the running pup – get out there, run as hard as you can, plow through the dirty stuff, and don’t forget to stop and smell the roses. Err…Rocks.

Happy Tuesday – Happy Trails!

~Alyssa

IMAG0300-1

PS – This picture was taken later in the day. Apparently we are best of friends now. Running brings all sorts of souls together.

Leave a Reply

