Fit Girl on the Move

Over the past month, I have been “on the move”, literally. Since the beginning of the month I have moved out our apartment, moved into my parent’s house, gone on a last minute trip to Montana and finally moved myself to join my husband  in Alamosa, CO.

It can be challenging to stay motivated to workout when your schedule and routine are thrown off balance. It is also tough to eat allergen free and “clean”, when you are on the road, or eating out of someone else’s kitchen. While I have probably eaten more than my share of sugar in the past month, and missed a few workouts, I have discovered some fool proof tips for staying fit and healthy while in transition. Whether you are moving, traveling, or just plain busy, I hope some of these tips and/or products will help you stay on track to your goals!

Stay F.I.T.

F -Find 30 minutes to sweat each day. Maybe it’s not at your regular gym, and maybe it’s at a random time, but we all have an extra 30 minutes to spare. Maybe it’s trying a new machine at your hotel, or walking around town with a friend or relative, or just watching TV show and doing some body weight exercises.

I – Integrate strength moves into your daily life. You might not have the time to commit to a full-on strength training session at the gym, but that doesn’t mean you can’t keep your tone. Lunge down your hallway at home, do squats or calf raises while brushing your teeth, or do 10 pushups before you crawl into bed for the night.

T – Travel with running shoes! The best thing about running is that all you need are shoes. Keep your shoes with you when you are on the go, because you never know when you’ll get a chance to go for a quick jog. If you are traveling or moving, running can be a great way to check out your new environment!

Eat C.L.E.A.N.

C – Carry healthy snacks in your purse or in the car. If you eat gluten free (or other allergen-free), you probably already do this. Even if you don’t have food limitations, it’s still helpful to have something healthy on-hand, to keep you from grabbing junk food on the go. Some of my favorite on-the-go snacks include:

  • Lara Bars (cookie dough is my favorite!)
  • Apple and sunflower seeds
  • Lentil Chips (a healthier alternative to potato chips – and they keep you full!)
  • Breakfast Cookies (I always keep a batch of these in my freezer for a quick grab and go meal)
  • Gluten Freeda’s instant oatmeal packets (great for hotel rooms or someone else’s kitchen!)

L – Let hunger be your guide. I find when I’m busy, I find myself eating on a different schedule, and often not as frequently. Go with it! We often get into the groove of eating when it’s time to eat, which can lead to overeating. Eat throughout the day, and only when you are hungry.

E – Eat Fresh every chance you get. I don’t know about you, but processed food seems to hang around a little more when I don’t spend time in my kitchen. Sometimes it can’t be avoided, but try to balance it out with fresh fruits and veggies when you do have a chance. Stop by a grocery store instead of fast food to grab fruit and yogurt or a veggie filled sandwich.

A – Always keep a water bottle close by. It’s easy to get dehydrated when you off your regular routine, so a keep a water bottle with you and fill it lots throughout the day!

N – Never Give Up! It can be discouraging when you feel like you have fallen off track in your diet. But keep a positive attitude and know that you are making the best choices you can, and know that your healthy habits will carry you through!

 

What about you?

  • How do make healthy choices while on the road?
  • What’s your favorite gluten free convenience food?
Leave a Reply

