Are You Ready To Run? The Warm-Up to Get You There

As usual in my blog posts – my advice to you is usually based off of advice I need to remind myself to follow. Lately I’ve been dealing with a nagging ankle injury, which has led me back to my life of icing, strengthening, stretching and generally thinking about ways I can keep myself on the road. Unfortunately, we (I) often don’t do all the good preventative things in life until something goes awry. I am the first to admit that I don’t always warm up before I run, but whenever I start to get little overuse injuries like this it’s a good reminder about how beneficial it is to warm up properly. It may not prevent every injury, but it sure can lessen your chances.

If you are alive and reading in the fitness/running world, I’m sure you have read your fair share of articles about stretching, warming up, etc. Everybody seems to have a different opinion about it, so today you get mine. Research shows and my opinion stands that warming up is SUPER important, and doing it with dynamic movements is the best and safest way to do it.  Today I’m going to share a great dynamic w arm-up that is safe for most people, and a great idea for getting your body ready to run.

Why you say?

Why can’t I just step off my front porch and start running? 

Well – here are my top 3 reasons to do a dynamic warm-up.

1. Get your blood flowing and loosen up those muscles that get tight from our everyday life. Warmer, more flexible muscles are less likely to get injured.

2. Activating your central nervous system, prepping your body for a quality workout

3. Start firing key muscles in your legs and glutes that are important in proper running form.

I have found that doing the following warm-up has helped me with in-run hamstring and glute pain, and gets me off to a better running start than if I were to just start cold. I’ll be the first to admit that it’s tough sometimes to take the extra few minutes to do a warm-up, but even if you can pick just a few of these exercises to do it is totally worth it.

Dynamic Warm Up Simple

After completing the dynamic warm-up, feel free to do any static stretches (calves, hip flexors, hamstrings, etc) before you get started. Otherwise, save those stretches for after your run.

So, what about you?

Do injuries remind you to take better care of yourself?

What is your go-to warm-up?

 

Disclaimer: Although I am an AFAA certified Personal Fitness Trainer, you should consult a physician before starting any exercise program or diet. If you choose to do any workouts on this website, you do so at your own risk. 

Leave a Reply

