Creamy Thai Sauce with a Surprise Star Ingredient!

I will begin by apologizing, I’ve committed the first sin of food-blogging…I don’t have a picture. To be perfectly honest I’m not thinking about my blog all of the time and sometimes I just make awesome food, proceed to devour it quickly, and later think about sharing it with all of you. So, like my mom always told me when I was little “use your imagination” folks. This sauce was pretty. It was orange/yellow, super smooth and creamy and the perfect thickness for a thai noodle dish. What I love most about it is that the star ingredient is totally unexpected. It’s a sweet potato!

This recipe came about on a Sunday afternoon while watching the Food Network’s “Chopped”. I needed to start making dinner and decided to make it “chopped-style”, by incorporating a bunch of different ingredients I needed to use up in my kitchen. This became the start of my Creamy Thai Sauce. Note that the amounts are estimates here (I know you people must hate me. No pictures, no real measurements.) Just go with it. Use me as inspiration, not as a rule book. Create something new in your kitchen this week with an unexpected ingredient.

CREAMY THAI SAUCE WITH A SURPRISE STAR INGREDIENT!

1 large sweet potato cooked (I microwaved it to cook it faster)

A few TBSP of sesame oil (or olive)

3 TBSP Earth Balance (you could use butter here or oil – I like the creaminess the butter texture gives the sauce)

1 splash of apple cider vinegar

1/4 finely chopped red onion

1 tbsp garlic

Approx. 1 cup coconut milk (I used the boxed kind, not the thick canned kind)

1/2 cup chopped cilantro

Thai Spices to taste: onion powder, ginger, turmeric, red pepper flakes, salt, pepper

 

Directions:

Puree the cooked sweet potato (peel it first) and the milk in a blender. Add the sesame oil and vinegar too.

Meanwhile, soften the onions on the stove with the Earth Balance and the garlic. When the onion is softened, add the butter/onion/garlic mix to the blender. Puree until the sweet potato is totally smooth. Add more liquid (coconut milk or water) if necessary until it is a good creamy consistency. You should be able to pour it easily, but not have it too runny.

Pour the sauce mixture into the saucepan you used for the onions and garlic and simmer it over medium-low heat. Stir in your spices and the chopped cilantro.

Voila! A creamy Thai sauce with no dairy, no thickeners and some good ol’ sweet potato goodness.

We served this sauce over Thai Kitchen Brown Rice Noodles with sauteed shrimp and mixed veggies.

Garnish with cilantro, chopped peanuts and Sriracha sauce!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This sauce was so super and easy and delicious, that it has got me thinking about how else I can use sweet potatoes in sauces. I think it makes the perfect color and texture for a dairy-free Mac & “Cheese”…so that will have to be my next kitchen adventure!

Until then, enjoy!

And please share with me what you have made out of unexpected ingredients in YOUR kitchen!

2 thoughts on “Creamy Thai Sauce with a Surprise Star Ingredient!

  1. I LOVE this! It’s funny you don’t have pictures, my food blog I do pictures, it’s incredibly basic but it is time consuming! Thank you for this recipe – one of the spices I have yet to experiment with is turmeric, this will give me reason to start! Happy Day! Lisa

    • I’d love to check out your blog Lisa! Send me the link! And turmeric is an awesome spice…beware it turns your kitchen yellow, but it has a wonderful flavor and great anti-inflammatory properties. I even put it in my lemon water sometimes! Yum 🙂

Leave a Reply

