Granola Recipe {gluten+dairy+nut free}

Hey all! In a previous post I talked about how every time I make granola, I do something different. Usually it’s because I don’t remember the recipe, sometimes it’s because I’m missing ingredients, and sometimes it’s because I want to try something new. Regardless…granola is a super versatile recipe that can be made with so many different flavors and add-ins that it makes for a really fun recipe to make over and over. That being said, sometimes my end-product turns out better than others. This week was no exception. I whipped it up, not really thinking much about the recipe – and using up several ingredients in my kitchen (aka: not measuring, just dumping the contents). It turned out delicious! So delicious, in fact, that my husband was munching on it when he was helping me clean up the dishes (I KNOW! He was helping me clean up my baking dishes when I didn’t even bake cookies for him!) and he asked why I always buy his instead of making it. Mine was THAT good! I’m gloating…I know. But he was right, this batch did turn out great and was just as good if not better than the store bought kind.

20130809-095432.jpg

Why do I make my granola and not his? Well – I buy certified gluten free oats for mine, and always aim to stay away from cane sugar/corn syrup. The gluten free granolas for sale in stores are prohibitively expensive, and less face it, not good. I’ve always bought his because he can eat everything and it’s cheap and it’s easy. But I’m re-thinking now. It is super easy to make, and even cheaper if using non-gluten-free oats. Ok…next batch is for you babes!

On to the recipe. The amounts are educated guesses…and feel free to substitute as needed. The key to good granola is getting enough sticky stuff in it to hold it all together!

20130807-123032.jpg

Homemade Granola {gluten+dairy+nut free}

7 cups combined oats and cereals (I used 4 cups certified gluten free oats, 1/2 cup puffed millet and 2 1/2 cups puffed rice)

1 cup ground flaxseed

1 tbsp cinnamon

2 tsp ginger

1 tsp nutmeg

dash of salt

1 cup raisins

1/2 cup shredded, unsweetened coconut

Mix these dry ingredients all together. In a separate bowl, mix these wet ingredients:

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/2 cup honey

1/4 cup molasses

1 tbsp vanilla

After combining the wet ingredients, drizzle over the cereal/fruit mixture and mix until coated. Spread into a large glass baking pan (oil spray it first!) and bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour. After a half hour, stir and mix it up. And again 15 minutes later (at 45 min in). Let cool before you chop it all up – this will help you keep some chunks. I store it in a large plastic cereal container and eat with fresh fruit and rice milk or over coconut yogurt and fruit!

20130809-095442.jpg

Leave a Reply

