Hummus Review + a recipe

Hey everyone! I hope you all had a fun, active Labor Day weekend. I got to spend a few much needed days back home with my family! I got to run some trails and cruise on the back of my dad’s tandem…so fun to get some variety!

With the start of football season and therefore on-my-own-for-dinner-season…my eating habits tend to change. Instead of big meals, especially at dinner, I tend to snack more often. My go-to right now? HUMMUS! I love it with gluten free crackers, inside a wrap, as a dip for fresh veggies or even spread on a slice of turkey for a quick protein pick me up.

20130903-120833.jpg

I usually make my own hummus because it’s so easy (and cheap too) but when I saw a new brand (maybe it’s not new, but it’s new to me) at the grocery store on sale I had to give Lilly’s Roasted Red Pepper Hummus a whirl. It is different from other store bought hummus I have tried, but I really really like it! There is no tahini in it, so it is safe for those of you with sesame allergies and is completely fresh tasting. The texture is also smoother than most other store bought brands, and definitely smoother than my home made version. I thought it was maybe local, but turns out it is made in Portland, OR. I’ve been loving having it with my snacks, and Phil has been putting it on his turkey sandwich every morning. I might have to put this in the rotation along with making my own!

20130903-121219.jpg

 

No Lilly’s where you live? Want to make your own? It’s easy!

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus
1 can drained and rinsed chickpeas
1 crushed garlic clove
A few pieces of roasted red peppers
Salt and pepper to taste
Cayenne pepper to taste
Extra Virgin olive oil

Blend the beans, garlic, peppers and spices in a food processor. While it is mixing, slowly add oil until the consistency is smooth. Taste it, and adjust spices as necessary. Store refrigerated for up to a week. The awesome thing about this recipe is that it can be modified flavor-wise however you like it. Sometimes I put in some tomatoes and basil, sometimes artichokes, and sometimes totally plain. However you dig your dip – you can personalize it just for you!

 

PS – After writing and proofing this post… the word “Hummus” is completly weird to me. Does that ever happen to you? It looks like I spelled it wrong and I can’t figure out why the heck this tasty spread is called “hummus”! Hummus? Hmmm…yes?

 

Leave a Reply

